BG-11; The Yoga of Vision (Cosmic Form)

Then, he Dhananjaya filled with wonders with his hair standing on 
end, bowed down his head to the God and spoke with joined 
palms.N 1114 
Indravaira 1 (5,6) 
I fäåq host of multitude of 
beings I 
Arjuna said: O God! I behold in your body all the Gods and hosts of 
multitudes Of different beings, Brahma, the Lord seated on the Lotus, all 
Rishis and celestial serpants.N 1115 
11 
arms bellies 
Infinite form I I Eq I 
O Lord of the Universe! I behold in You (see you endowed) with 
numerous arms, bellies, faces and eyes and having infinite form (extended 
on all sides). O Cosmic Form ! Again, I see neither Your beginning nor 
middle nor end.N 1116 
7-Sri Krishna Saras
without in the enemy camps warriors 
11—+ shall not live 
I am the mighty world-destroying Time, now engaged in destroying 
the world. Even without you, none of these warriors arrayed in the enemy 
camp will survive.N 1132 
left handed (bow man) I fig fame I 
enjoy slain I 
mere instrument Il 
O left handed (bow-man)! Therefore, arise and obtain glory, conquer 
the enemies and enjoy the affluent kingdom. Verily, by Myself they have 
already been slain. Be a mere instrument only.N 1133 
Il 
I do 
kill Il 1 conquer Il 
Drona, Bhishma, Jayadratha, Karna and other brave warriors — these 
have already been slain by Me; you do kill; be not distressed; fight and 
you shall conquer your enemies in the battle.N_1134 
33,34: Here Lord Krishna is very directly consoling Arjuna that he should 
stand-up and catch the Time and claim success and glory. Whatever be the might 
and strength of the negative forces, the all-consuming Might-of-Change has already 
destroyed them all, and Arjuna has only to come forward, act the part Of a hero and 
claim the crown of victory all to himself: "1 HAVE ALREADY SLAIN THEM, 
MERELY AN APPARENT CAUSE YOU, O LEFT-HANDED ARCHER." 
21-Sri Krishna Saras
— I I Il 
moon great grand father 
1 thousand times Il 
You are the Vayu, Yama, Agni, Varuna, the moon, Prajapati, and the 
great-grand-Father; 
salutations unto you, again thousand times 
salutations and again salutation and salutation unto You.N 1139 
O all! 1 I I qåa: Il 
infinite in prowess I aa: 
O All, You are infinite in prowess ! my salutations to You from before 
and from behind, salutations to You from all sides. You, who possess 
limitless might, pervade all; therfore You are all.N 1140 
qr—sÄ Il Il 
25-Sri Krishna Saras
ignorant gqHJOrash1y 
carelessly love qT friend I 
insult/disrespect 1 for the sake of fun 
on play reposing in bed I in the 
presence of others I immeasurable Il-»crave for 
forgiveness 
Ignorant of Your greatness, whatever I have rashly said due to 
carelessness or due to love, regarding You as a mere friend, addressing 
You as "0 Krishan, O Yadava, O friend" and so on; Achuta, in 
whatever way I have insulted You for the sake of fun, --------while at play, 
reposing in bed, sitting or dining, either alone or in presence of others, I 
crave forgiveness for all that from You, who are infinite.N 1141 • N 1142 
O being of unequalled powere 
1 be revered/ adorable I great I in three world 
O Possesor of imcomparable glory! You are the Father of this moving 
and unmoving creation and adorable, also the great teacher; in all three 
worlds, there is no one else equal to You; how can any one be 
superior?N 1143 
11 
26-Sri Krishna Saras
bent saluting 
adorable crave forgiveness I of the friend 
beloved consort bear Il 
O Deva, Therefore Lord, laying my body at Your feet and bowing 
low, I seek to propitiate (forgiveness from) You, adorable Lord. It behoves 
(#-behooves—>be appropriate) You to condone (my fault) like a father to 
his son, friend to his friend and a loving husband to that of his beloved 
consort.N 1144 
1 before after seeing dlighted I 
tormented; O abode of 
universe g-€R Il 
O God! Having seen that which was unseen before, I feel delighted; 
and (yet) my mind is tormented by fear. Show me that previous form only. 
O God Of Gods, O Abode Of the Universe, be gracious. 1145 
11 
I desire to see You as before, crowned, bearing a mace, with a discus 
in the hand, in Your former Form only, having four arms; O thousand 
armed, O Univesal Form! 
27 —Sri Krishna Sara S
1 by My 
own Yoga-power %F+Winfinite primal f+a- 
universal form 
Shree Bhagavan said: O Arjuna, being pleased with you, I have 
shown you, through My own power of Yoga, this supreme, infinite and 
primal Universal Form, which was not seen before by anyone else than 
you.N 1147 
I in mortal world 
Zl$-»sacrifice deep study I G: I I 
austere / penance; 
O Great Hero of Kurus! In this mortal world, I can not be seen in this 
Form by anyone else than you, either through the study of Vedas and 
sacrifices or of rituals, or again through gifts, sacrifices or austere 
penances.N 1148 
28-Sri Krishna Saras
Seeing this dreadful Form of Mine as this, be not be perturbed or 
perplexed; with the feraless and loving mind, behold onceagain this Form 
of Mine.-N 1149 
1 
gentle form i-ftaR. consoled Il 
Sanjaya said: Having thus spoken to Arjuna, Vasudeva again showed 
His own Form and the Great-souled One, assuming His gentle Form, 
consoled him who was terrified.N 1150 
q-äaT:-» clear minded Il 
Arjuna said: O Janardhana! Seeing this gentle human Form of Yours, 
I am composed, clear minded and restored to my own 
N 1151 
very 
difficult Il 
29-Sri Krishna Saras
Shree Bhagvan said: This Form of Mine which you have seen is 
exceedingly difficult to perceive. This Form, even the gods are always 
eager to behold.N 1152 • N 1153 
I I I I I by 
sacrifice 
AS how you have seen Me in this Form, neither by study Of Vedas, 
nor by penance, nor by charity, nor by sacrifices can be seen.N 1152: 
N 1153 • 
1 minded [not by other means 
this Form essence/in reality be entered 
into Il 
O Paranthapa, Arjuna! But, by the single minded devotion, this Form 
of Mine, can be known and seen in reality and also entered into.N 1154 
Regarding devotion, Shankara says: NO doubt, Of the means available for 
liberating ourselves, the most substantial hardware is Bhnkti; and identifying 
ourselves with the Self is called Bhnkti. " 
Identifying is the truest measure of Love. The devotee. forgetting his own 
individual existence and, in his love. identifying to become one with his beloved 
Lord is the culmination of Divine Love. The Vcdnntic student who is the seeker of 
the Self, is spiritually obliged to renounce all his abject (miserable/ low) 
identification with his matter vestures and to discover his true nature to be the Self. 
Only those who are thus capable of identifying themselves with the One 
unifying Truth that holds together, in its web-of-love. the plurality. can experience. 
"ME IN THIS FASHION" in my Cosmic Form. 
e ree s ages In w IC rea Isa Ion 0 ru comes 0 
A definite intellectual knowledge Of the goal and the path is the beginning Of 
a seeker's pilgrimage TO KNOW. Next comes the seeker's attempt to masticate 
(chevv) the idea intellectually understood, through his own personal reflection upon 
the information which he has already gathered TO SEE. Having thus 'known' and 
'seen' the goal, thereafter, the seeker, through the process Of detachment from the 
30-Sri Krishna Saras
false and attachment to the Real, comes to experience the Truth as no object other 
than himelf TO ENTER. 
By the term 'entering,' it is also indicated that the fulfilled seeker becomes the 
very essence Of the sought. The deamer, suffering from sorrows Of the dream, ends 
it all, when he no more sees, but "enters" the waking-state, himself to become the 
waker 
q: q: who works for My sake at Me as 
Supreme/depending on Me devoted to Me free from 
attachment I no enmity reaches Me Il 
O Pandava! He who works for My sake, depends on Me(looks 
upon Me as Supreme), is devoted to Me, free from attachment and bears 
no enmity towards all beings, reaches Me.N 1155 
Thus, when the whole scheme is re-evaluated, we can find in it a logic, quite 
acceptable and perfectly psychological. Each subsequent item in the scheme is 
beautifully supported and nourished by the previous one. From this stanza. it is 
evident that the spiritual seeker's great pilgimage starts with God-dedicated 
activites. Soon, the God principle Itself becomes his very goal in life. He will 
develop, in himself, a consummate liking for this glorious goal. Naturally, all his 
other finite attachments with the world-of-objects will end, and at last, he will come 
to contact the Self, he recognises himself everwhere, in everything, and so, in him 
there cannot be any sense of enmity at all.LOVE FAR ALL AND HATRED FOR NONE 
can be considered the Geeta 'touch-stone' to know the quality of realisation and 
intensity Of experience, a seeker has gained through his Sadhana 
Thus, in the Upanishad Of the glorious Bhagavad-Geetha, in the Science Of Eternal 
(Brahma), in the Scripture Of Yoga, in the dialogue between Sri Krishna and 
Arjuna, the eleventh chapter(discourse) ends entitled 
"The Yoga of the Vision of the Universal Form" 
31-Sri Krishna Saras

Leave a comment