Ranganatha Ashtakam

Il Il 
"Rangana thash ta kam " 
(composed by Sri Adi Shankaracharya) 
Il Il 
(My Mind delights in the Divine Form of Sri Ranganatha) That form (resting on the 
Adisesha) absorbed in Blisss (Ananda Rupe), and who is of the form of Knowledge (Nija 
Bodha Rupe); That Foem embodies essence Of Brahman (Brahma Svarupe) and the 
essence Of all the Vedas (Shruti Murti Rupe); 
That Form is COOI 
like 
the moon (Shashanka Rupe) and having exquisitely charming (Ramaniya Rupe); My 
Mind delights in the Divine Form of Sri-Ranga (Sri Ranganatha) Let That Form may 
bestow my mind with Bliss-I. 
My Mind delights in the Divine Plays Of Sri Ranganatha. Those Plays Of Him, 
showering Compassion at the bank of river Käveri (just like its gentle waves); Those 
Plays of Him assuming beautiful sportive Forms at the root of the Mandara 
I _ Sri S s
Tree; Those Plays of His Incarnations slaying the Demons in all the Lokas (VVorlds); My 
Mind delights in the Divine Plays of Sri Ranga (Sri Ranganatha) (Those Plays fill my 
being with Bliss)-2. 
11 Il 
My Mind delights in the various Abodes of Sri Ranganatha. That abode of Him 
dwelling with Devi Lakshmi (in Vaikuntha), those abodes of Him dwelling amidst all the 
beings in this World (in Temples), that abode of Him within the lotus-hearts of the 
Devotees (as Divine Consciousness), and that abode of Him within the Orb of 
the Sun (the Sun representing the Image Of the Divine); That Abode Of Him in the filled 
with Compassion, and that Abode Of Him within the excellent Virtues; My Mind 
delights in the Divine Abode of Sri-Ranga (Sri Ranganatha) Let That Form may bestow 
my mind with Bliss-3. 
Il Il 
My Mind delights in the Worship Of Sri Ranganatha. One who is adorable by Lord 
Brahma and other (Gods) and by the Devotees (considering Him) as the One Lord of 
the Universe and by Sri Mukunda, and the Chief of the Suras (i.e. Indra Deva); The one 
who is 
adored by by Sage Vyasa and other 
(Sages); 
and by 
Sage 
Sanaka and other (Kumaras); My Mind delights in the Worship of Sri Ranga (Sri 
Ranganatha) (His Worship fills my being with Bliss)-4 
2 _ Sri Kris
11 
(My Mind delights in the Lordship Of Sri Ranganatha) VVh0 is the Lord Of Brahma, 
Who is the Lord Of Garuda, Who is the Lord Of Vaikuntha and Who is the Lord Of the 
King of Suras (i.e. Indra Deva); 5.2: Who is the Lord of the Three Worlds, Who is the 
Lord of All the Worlds; Let my Mind delights in the Lordship of Sri Ranga (Sri 
Ranganatha) (His Lordship fills my being with Bliss-5. 
11 Il 
My Mind delights in the Auspicious Divine Sleep of Sri Ranganatha); that Posture 
of Unfailing Rest (which nothing can disturb), that total Sleep (which is full with 
Fullness), that auspicious Yoga Nidra (which is absorbed in Itself in Fullness), (and) that 
Posture of sleeping over the milky ocean (and controlling everything); That Posture of 
Rest is the One Source Of Auspiciousness (in the Universe) and One great Sleep which 
(gives Rest amidst all the Activities and) finally absorbs the Universe, my mind delights 
in the Auspicious Divine Sleep Of Sri Ranga (Sri Ranganatha) (That Auspicious Divine 
Sleep fills my being with Bliss)-6. 
My Mind delights in the Auspicious Resting Postures Of Sri Ranganatha) That 
Resting Posture adorned with variegated (garments and ornaments); that Resting Posture 
over the King of Serpents (i.e. Adisesha); That Resting Posture on the Lap of Nanda Gopa 
(and Yashoda); That Resting Pose on the Lap of Devi Lakshmi; That Resting Posture over 
the Milky Ocean; (And) That Resting Posture over the Banyan Leaf; My Mind delights in 
the Auspicious Resting Postures Of Sri Ranga (Sri Ranganatha) (Those Auspicious Resting 
Poses fill my being with Bliss)-7. 
3 _ Sri Kris S s
JIT* 
Il Il 
This indeed is Ranga (Srirangam), where if anyone sheds his Body (liberate from 
the body), will not come back again with Body (i.e. will not be born again), ( that isB0dy 
had approached the Lord i.e. taken refuge in the Lord);: (Glory to Sri Ranganatha) Whose 
Hand holds the Discus, from Whose Lotus Feet river Ganga originates, who rides on His 
Bird Vehicle (Garuda); (and) Who Sleeps on the Bed of Serpent 
(Glory to Sri 
Ranganatha)-8. 
9.1: This Ranganathashtakam, which is auspicious, he who recites after getting up 
early in the Morning, all his desires are fulfilled; (and finally) he attains the Sayujya of 
Sri Ranganatha (absorption in the essence of Sri Ranganatha, gets liberated). 
4 _ Sri Kris S s

Leave a comment